Guest Post by David Estes: Do you believe in soul mates?

Do you believe in soul mates?

David Estes

I do! And I’m a guy! Is that weird? Are you saying “Awww, that’s so cute!” or are you saying “This dude’s a cheeseball for sure!”? Well, regardless of whether you think I’m a hopeless romantic with my head in the clouds and no clue about reality, let me explain why I believe the way I do. Yep, this is my true love story!

Before I met Adele I wasn’t so sure about the whole “soul mate thing.” I didn’t necessarily have an opinion either way, because I didn’t have enough experience to decide on it. Well, all that changed when I met my future wife. Adele and I, although not exactly alike in every single way, connected in a way that made it impossible for us to stay away from each other. We love each other’s conversation, jokes, laughs, touches, and everything else. We moved in together after 6 weeks, were engaged in 3 months, and were married in 9 months. Yeah, we moved fast!

She’s my sunrise and moonbeams and crashing waves and lightning bolts. She makes life better and happier and more worth it. I’m sure I’m hitting plenty of clichés, but they’re all true, and here comes another one: she makes me a better man. Without her, I’m loster than the plane crash victims on the hit TV show Lost. In short, she’s my soul mate.

In fact, it was Adele who encouraged me three years ago to start seriously writing, which had always been a dream of mine. I wouldn’t be a fulltime writer today if it wasn’t for her!

So, regardless of whether you have a soul mate yet, or believe in that sort of thing, my belief in the concept absolutely has an impact on my writing. I like the characters who I believe are meant to be together, to find each other, to have the chance for their relationship to grow, and to stay together. When I believe two characters are soul mates, no other characters can get in the way no matter how attractive or smooth they are. I rarely do love triangles for that reason.

So does that mean all my books are cheesy romance novels with sunshine and picnics and stolen kisses? Not at all! My characters have endless and brutal struggles in their quests to be together, many of which will tear them apart before they’re eventually brought back together. Happy endings aren’t always a sure thing in my dystopian novels, leaving the reader in suspense and hoping for the best. Challenges make my characters stronger and more appreciative of the time they do have together. That’s real life, whether you have a soul mate, a best friend, a sibling, mother, or father. Our trials define us and mold us together like super glue.

Now I’d love to hear from all of you! Do you believe in soul mates? Do you have a soul mate already? Why or why not? All opinions are welcome as I believe everyone has a different take and there isn’t any right or wrong answer! Leave your opinions as comments below!

I’d like to thank Tiffany for the chance to come on her awesome blog and talk about soul mates!

David Estes

6 thoughts on “Guest Post by David Estes: Do you believe in soul mates?

  1. I knew his answer before I read the post. I’ve had a conversation with him about it on a forum…I just thought about that…I talked to him…David Estes. I’m blushing now. The guy rocks!

  2. I believe and I got one. He is in Ireland and I am in Canada. Our platonic relationship started since November 2012 and we are still moving on. We met in person once in Feb and we are going to meet again this May. We both agreed that we had good chat, good conversation, comfy feelings and care about each other since we met. Not sure what will happened but if we are said to be together regardless of distance, that is meant to be.

Leave a Reply

