Book Review: Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Walking Disaster Title: Walking Disaster (Beautiful #2)

Author: Jamie McGuire

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Blurb: Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Beautiful Disaster. Can you love someone too much?

Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster, the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now it’s time to see the story through Travis’s eyes.

My Review: Ok so when I heard that there would be a sequel to Beautiful Disaster I was very excited. It took me a while to find out that it was the same story but from Travis’ point of view. Well either way, I still wanted to read it. I had a love/hate relationship with Beautiful Disaster but did enjoy it. I was expecting a full on stand alone novel that followed the same story line of Beautiful Disaster. However, this was not the case, and this was the cause of some disappointed.

The best way I can think to describe it is that I felt McGuire had specific scenes that she wanted Travis to have a voice for. Those scenes where quite good but the rest of the book is mostly glossing over events to get to the next major scene. It was not bad. I came to know and like Travis in this novel- I didn’t so much before and I found myself enjoying it. However, Walking Disaster is not at all a stand alone novel. To me, it was meant to fill in some blanks while hearing the story from someone else’s point of view. If you have not read Beautiful Disaster and pick this book to read, I’m not sure you would be able to fully appreciate or enjoy this novel. Again, this is a fill in the blanks book. It perfectly compliments Beautiful Disaster.

This novel, continues the story past the point of where Beautiful Disaster ended and I have to say, it is one of the things I loved most about this book. The seeing beyond the airport, seeing America’s argument, and their happily ever after. The ending was absolutely beautiful and helped me fall in love with this book. So while I had some issues with this novel, that ending more than made up for it.

While the bulk of the story was in a gray area for me, the beginning left me crying like a baby and the ending had me giddy with joy. Not really a good thing but I would be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy it. I enjoyed getting to know Travis better, my quenched curiosity and their happily ever after.

I would definitely recommend to someone who read and enjoyed Beautiful Disaster.

Thank you Simon&Schuster for allowing me to read this ARC through Netgalley.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. I was not thrilled with this book. I loved Travis’s POV, but I was kind of bored since the story was the same. And I just did not believe the prologue at all. And was unhappy with the epilogue as I thought it was not characteristic of the rest of the book.

    • I find it crazy that what I loved about the book were what you disliked. Except the part of being a bit bored by the story, too true. There were only certain scenes that were legitimately good. The beginning had me in tears and the ending (you are right about it, it pretty much came out of nowhere, yet it) made up for all of my dislikes in the book. I loved their happily ever after. I appreciate your honesty and thanks for commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

