Book Review: Online Dating Sucks… but it’s how I fell in love

online dating sucksTitle: Online Dating Sucks… but it’s how I fell in love

Author: John P Gavin

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Blurb: The true story of John – part time nice guy, part time player, and full time advice columnist – as he gives guidance to women on how to find Mr. Right – and inadvertently becomes Mr. Right himself.

John P. Gavin, an advice columnist for a San Francisco area newspaper, spent a year writing about how women can better understand the way men approach Online Dating – and relationships in general – and how to use that knowledge to make their own online experience better.

This is a story of John’s endeavor to explain why the dating sites can be so frustrating – and how to minimize those frustrations. And while the original intent of the column may have been to educate women about men, it ends up working just as well in reverse, as men find out what women are really looking for in a guy – and how to be That Guy. In John’s journey of discovery he finds that successful online dating has as much to do with how we go about it as it does with who we are.

To underscore the point he finds that when he changes how he dates it also changes who he dates – a discovery that will lead him to love.

My Review: Let me be honest, this isn’t the type of book I would normally go for. When John first approached me about reading his novel I was pretty hesitant about it. But in the spirit of being fair I went to amazon found his book and chose the ‘Look Inside’ option. I was surprised when I reached the ending of the preview we are allowed to read. I mean, I finished it all in one sitting and rather enjoyed it. It made me realize that although Online Dating Sucks is not really up my lane it is definitely a book worth reading and so, here I am, having finished the book and sharing my opinions of it.

In this book, Gavin shares with us a year of his life. I love his narrative style and how he alternates from telling us about his personal life to then sharing his column. In truth I absolutely loved reading this book. It is honest, funny, informative and without a doubt interesting. I love how although this is non-fiction, I still found myself swept up in the story- which is no easy feat. After all, there is a reason why I stick to fiction. Gavin is truly a talented writer and I found myself enjoying every minute of this book.

Gavin starts each chapter by telling the reader what is going on in his life. The first chapter depicts the events that led to his divorce and his reemergence into the dating scene. These depictions of his life turn out to be quite a beautiful story of picking up the pieces of his life, starting a new career, learning things about himself, confronting his demons and falling in love. I absolutely loved it. It was entertaining and was the glue that made this book amazing and the column that much more interesting.

Gavin’s column although intended to be online dating advice does so much more than that. It gives great overall relationship advice and an insight into the minds of men. It looks into the complexity of relationships, the different ways male and females think, and how men view commitments and relationships. It’s honest, funny, refreshing and ultimately, a good read.

I a married woman, who has no interest in online dating yet found this book to be an invaluable resource. I would invite anyone to read it. Not only is it great for single people people hoping to get an inside scoop, it is great in helping us better understand the opposite sex and a great read to boot. I absolutely loved getting to know Gavin through his narrations, the happily ever after feel of it all and his candor. This is a book I would definitely recommend.

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Online Dating Sucks… but it’s how I fell in love

  1. This sounds great. It’s not the kind of thing that I would normally read, but having said that, I usually enjoy reading a good columnist. They have a great way with words 😉

  2. Wow, thank you Tiffany for such a great review! John is a very talented writer and I am a lucky woman to have found him.

    Thank you for taking the time to read his book, (even though it is not your norm). I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Loretta

    • Wow, Loretta! Thank you for visiting my blog. After reading so much about you, I kinda feel like I’m writing to some magical creature! Lol. I did enjoy the book and wish you guys all the best!

  3. I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem
    still exists.

    • I’m sorry to hear that you have been experiencing problems on my site. If this problem persists, please let me know. I will attempt to find what is creating this issue. *fingers crossed* I’m really hoping this is an isolated incident.

Leave a Reply

