Book Review: Easy

easyTitle: Easy

Author: Tammara Webber

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Blurb:

    Rescued by a stranger.
    Haunted by a secret
    Sometimes, love isn’t easy…

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…

The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.

Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth—and find the unexpected power of love.

(Mature Young Adult/ New Adult)

My Review: Every where I looked on Goodreads, I found someone raving about this novel. Yet, I was still very hesitant to pick up this book. So I did some very extensive research (reading WAY too many reviews) and came to a what the heck conclusion. I decided, ‘what do I have to lose?’ And started reading the novel.

The book starts off really strong. I knew what to expect but now I see that there just simply was no way for me to prepare myself. Are you wondering what I’m talking about? A couple of pages into chapter one and the protagonist Jacqueline, is about to get raped. As I said, I knew this would happen yet I completely had a stop and go thing going on. That scene was really tough for me to read. Luckily for her, and me- I don’t think I could’ve handled the alternative, the was someone there to stop this rapist bastard.

So enter Lucas. He somehow manages to be at the right place and the right time and kicks the living crap out of her attacker. I think as a reader, you will truly come to love Lucas. His sweetness, honesty, vulnerability, his fierceness, pain, love, protectiveness… Idk. I did. He’s just pretty awesome.

I love Jacqueline’s character development. From codependent to independent. From victim to survivor. From weak to strong. I also love the role Lucas plays in that transformation. He helps her and it’s so selfless. He just wants her to be better, to be stronger and he helps her get there. And Lucas’ story- when revealed, is heartbreaking. Utterly heartbreaking.

So I’ve a few things to say after finishing this novel.
1. This cover does not do the book justice. At all.
2. I understand the hype about this book. It is absolutely brilliant.
3. It’s a book all women should read.

I’m not sure if it was Webber’s intention but I feel that she inadvertently gives us a view of the different type of men and relationships there are. Then there’s the aspect of men who don’t understand no meaning no. The difference between saying something about it and keeping quite. The affect these attacks can have on women, how we can fight back and the need for us gals to stick together. Easy is truly a novel every female should read. Note that I did not say girl or woman. Every female should read this novel.

I absolutely love it!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Easy

  1. Great review! Easy didn’t impress me that much but overly-hyped books tend to have such effect on me, so probably it’s not Easy’s fault. 😛 I agree with you, Easy has one of the strongest openings and women definitely should read this! 😀

    • Thanks Zuleeza for the compliment and for commenting! ( You’re blog is pretty awesome by the way!) I’m quite the opposite from you. I tend to fall in with the hype… Which I clearly did with Easy as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

