In this new year….

Have you guys noticed my absence this past week? I apologize for that. To make it simple, I was overwhelmed. I was just getting back from a vacation, my oldest was returning to school and then there are a few curve balls life has thrown me. So again, sorry. With my apology being put out there, I wanted my first post of the year to be my blog-olution (blog New Year’s resolution). In warning it will be long and might get a little sappy.

First, a lot has changed in me and in my life since I started blogging. And truth be told, blogging is a lot different for me now than it was in the beginning. At first, I took it easy. I had few obligations in my personal life, I found the the perfect excuse to feed my book obsession (and loved it) and keeping to an every other day schedule while reading one book every other day was fun and easy. I enjoyed writing random stuff that would allow you guys to get to know me and with time, I forgot how to have fun with it.

Lately life has thrown me a few curve balls and the TiffanyLovesBooks has turned into something else. I thank all of you who have stuck with me through all of this and I ask that you continue to stick with me. To be honest my biggest blogging resolution this year is to find a way to make it fun again. To bring back the spice to this relationship… 😉 Haha… But seriously, I have a few ideas (my blog-olution) to make things better for me, and hopefully for you too- things to make it fun again.

So here it goes: first, my posting schedule will be changing. Instead of my every other day, which became very difficult to keep up with, I will be posting three times a week. No specific days, just three times a week. If there are more, then great, but that’s my quota. Next, in all of this brainstorming, I’ve realized that along the way, I lost sight of what I wanted this blog to be when I started it. I have excelled in some areas, like the Author Spotlights but I had so much more planned. Like keeping you guys updated on all the great giveaways that are going on, keep you updated on our favorite authors and stuff like that. Which is the second part of my blog-olution. I won’t lose what I have going now, but I’ll merge what I already have with the image of what I wanted this blog to be. And lastly, those of you who have regular correspondences with me know that I’m an amazing procrastinator, my goal is to be more available.

If you got to this point and read all of the crap above, I would love to hear your opinion. Do you think the changes I have in mind will have a positive effect on TiffanyLovesBooks? We there some changes you would like to see that I haven’t mentioned? Is there anything that you would absolutely disown me for if I changed or got rid of?

10 thoughts on “In this new year….

  1. I think we sometimes forget why we started blogging. For me it was to have fun, read a lot of books and share them with others. I got a little overwhelmed during the holidays. With my hubby home for two weeks, I didn’t get much done. Then I tell myself, this is not a job. I hope the new year finds wonderful things coming your way.

    • Sherry, I think you understand my plight. I did start to see blogging as a job and after a point that POV led blogging to become a burden. I’m decided on changing that. I appreciate your support and well wishes. 🙂 thank you!

  2. Tiffany: I for one would just like to say that I don’t expect anything more out of your blog than what you’re willing and able to give. I also think that family comes first and if the blog is taking up to much of your time or causing friction in your personal life, then, by all means, slow it down. (Us followers will survive. Somehow. Lol.) I love your blog and would love to see it continue, but your happiness and peace of mind is more important than anything else.
    I think your blog-olution sound fantastic and I’ll be glad to support and help you any way I can, but always remember, moderation in all things.
    Just relax, Dear, and enjoy it, or it’s not worth doing.

    • Thank you very much Margaret! I appreciate your support and honesty and you are very right. At the end of the day slowing down is exactly what I need. I was putting too much pressure on myself and it affected everyone around me… So moderation will definitely be the key.

  3. First, I love your blog as a whole, but I really love reading your honest reviews. You put a lot of thought into them and it shows–which is highly appreciated as an author and as a reader. You know what I’ve found? Posting too much can actually lead to loss of followers–I have some blogs I follow that post almost everyday, and then it seems the posts lose meaning and instead of clicking read, I click delete for the email ones, and for the ones on my wordpress reader they get lost in the shuffle. I’ve found myself that 3 is a magic number for posts. If there are more thrown in every once in a while it’s not a biggie at all–like you said. I think keeping the main reason you started the blog in mind is the key–and it looks like that’s what you are thinking! I wish you all the luck in the world this new year!

  4. I think your idea sounds great. Do what you can and enjoy it 🙂 If you get ahead of your posts, schedule them. I LOVE to schedule posts. I am currently ahead on book reviews by 2 weeks because I have been reading like a loon lately. Woo hoo! But I know that will change at some point, probably soon, so I need and covet that buffer.
    Happy New Year!!

    • Happy New Year to you too! I really appreciate that idea ocdreader! I can see that truly being helpful. I’m one that when stressed focus so much on my problems that I become blind to solutions, and this is a great one. Thank you for your support!

  5. I totally agree with “cgiovanniwrites”. I can’t keep up with bloggers who post every day. I’m cutting back to once or twice a week so I can work on my WIPs. Just post when you fell like it, Tiffany – I really admire your work 😉

    • Thank you Dianne! I appreciate your feedback. I will do just that and please get to work on those WIPs. I absolutely love your work and can’t wait for the next novel to be released!

Leave a Reply

