Book Review: The Athena Effect

the athena effectTitle: The Athena Effect (The Athena Effect #1)

Author: Derrolyn Anderson

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Blurb: Country girl Cali has been kept a secret her entire life, raised in isolation by two very troubled people. Despite her parent’s disturbing fits, Cal is perfectly content, living at one with the nature that surrounds her, and finding adventure inside the pages of her beloved books. When an awful tragedy tears her away from her remote cabin in the woods, nothing she’s ever read has prepared her for a world that she knows very little about.

Girls and motorcycles are what bad-boy Cal’s life is all about. Brought up in a raucous party house by his biker brother, he’s free to do as he pleases, going through the motions on his final days of high school. Aimless, Cal stopped thinking about his future a long time ago.

Attacked by a gang of thugs while running an errand for his brother, Cal is in serious trouble until a fierce girl appears out of nowhere to intervene. She chases off three grown men, sparing Cal a brutal beating before disappearing into the night like a spirit. He can’t stop thinking about his mysterious rescuer, and when she turns out to be the weird new girl at school who goes out of her way to avoid him, he can’t contain his curiosity.

He’s never met anyone like her before, and the more he learns about the unusual girl who shares his nickname, the more he wants to know. Cal can’t help falling for Cal, but can he keep her from falling victim to a dangerous enemy from her parent’s tragic past?

My Review: From the first chapter, Anderson completely captured my attention. She definitely sets the tone for the book from the get go. This a truly a book that allows the reader to lose themselves. It is sweet and romantic and I fell in love with it. I was completely enamored by the romance. I also loved the adventure and action of this novel.

I enjoyed the alternating point of views. I honestly thought it would be confusing with both narrators having the same name. However, I found it was well done. I found their voices easy to distinguish and enjoyed the alternating points of view. This also allowed me to better understand the characters. The Cal’s I found, were great characters.

  • Cal, the girl, grew up away from modern civilization yet she is extremely smart. I loved her innocence and was constantly laughing at her expense. Her way of questioning things that are the norm for us was funny and refreshing. In an understatement, I’ll also say she is perceptive of the moods of those around her. I loved her description of them. The way she uses colors to describe them provides such imagery for the reader. I love her strength- physically, emotionally, morally.
  • Cal, the guy, has been struggling for the past few years and continuously loses himself in parties and countless women. However, once he figures out that Cal was his savior (see blurb) and begins to interact with her, he starts to find himself. I loved the way Anderson allows us to go through the motions of falling in love along with Cal. It was sweet and realistic and I loved it.
  • I really enjoyed reading this novel. I loved the strong characters, the action, the romance, the slight humor and the pace. Anderson does a great job with this novel and it is truly an adventure from start to finish. I look forward to its sequel and it’s definitely a novel I recommend.

    *I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

    2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Athena Effect

    Leave a Reply

    