Book Review + Giveaway: The Eleventh Question

Title: The Eleventh Question

Author: Dianne Gray

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Blurb: The first ten questions have already been asked. Who will ask the eleventh?

Fifteen-year-old Arista McGregor is in trouble – she is being bullied at school, her mother is put into rehab and she is sent to live with a foster carer. The foster carer is a vet and Arista isn’t what you would call an animal lover, in fact she’s terrified of the things. Like any teenager she asks questions, but the difference with Arista is that her questions may spark a chain of events that will change the world forever.

My Review: It all starts with “Who am I?”

It is the Seer and her Ayudante’s job to oversee those who have the potential to ask the eleventh question. The idea is that since the beginning of mankind, humans have questioned their existence and purpose. To first time each question was asked, it led to consciousness and a paradigm shift across the face of the Earth. Each potential unknowingly starts from the first question ever asked and work through the ten. The eleventh question has never been asked and no one knows what repercussions it will have. The Seer oversees and helps those potentials. They are also to oversee the effects of the eleventh question.

Does my summary sound boring or dull? Well, the novel is anything but. Gray takes the reader into this world that’s intriguing, unpredictable and fresh. Gray keeps her readers guessing. There are plenty of plot twists to leave the reader not knowing what to expect. I also thoroughly enjoyed the wide array of characters but in particular the two narrators: Arista and Cayo.

  • Arista is a 15 year old girl who has a pretty crappy life. She is constantly being bullied- at school and online. Her parents divorced and she believes it was because her father didn’t love her enough. Her mother is an alcoholic, a gambler, and has terrible taste in men. She is struggling with life and begins to question her own. She is a strong character who loves deeply.
  • On the other hand there is Cayo who is the Seer’s Ayudante. He is sensitive to the emotion of others and tends to feel his own very strongly. He is the Seer’s connection to human emotions. He is strong and determined and can also be a total bad-ass. And from me, that’s a compliment. His strength and morals had me absolutely loving his character
  • One thing however, that took away from the novel for me is that The Eleventh Question is very philosophical. To be honest, at times I would reread a line three of four times and finally come to the conclusion that no amount of re-reading would help me understand it. For example, one popular idea in the novel that kept me scratching my head in wonder is: that you should not ‘mistake reality for truth.’ I know many of you may understand this but I just couldn’t wrap my head around it. At times I felt it was a bit too philosophical for me. Yet even this not take away from the overall awesomeness that is this novel.

    The Eleventh Question is an interesting read to say the least. It was fresh and different and I really enjoyed it. The characters are realistic and relatable. It has it’s suspense, action, humor, drama and you are hooked throughout. Definitely worth reading and am positively looking forward to it’s sequel.

    *I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review

    To see just how great this novel is, fill out the form below. Dianne Gray is giving away an ebook copy to one very lucky winner. The giveaway ends November 19, 2012. Good Luck!

    22 thoughts on “Book Review + Giveaway: The Eleventh Question

    1. Interesting–the book blurb doesn’t sound anything at all like what you described the book to be. I also wouldn’t expect it to be 2POV from it. The whole description you did wasn’t boring, but it did sound like it would be confusing. I understand what you’re saying about the philosophical stuff, for me each thing will mean something different to someone else. I’ll be entering for sure!

      • Hi Cassandra! I agree that as for philosophy, it can mean different things to different people. In all honesty, I struggled a bit to write this review and I apologize if I sounded conflicted or confused but it is actually a great novel. I really enjoyed it and its a very smooth read. Good luck on the giveaway!

    2. Excellent and honest review, which I admire, although I think I’ll enjoy the philosophical aspect. I already have The Eleventh Question (thanks Dianne), and it’s next on my list to read 🙂

    3. I’ve read this and I LOVED it, and those capitals are very intentional. This is a good review as it’s a complex book, in my opinion, and not that easy to describe. What I loved was the continual interplay of two very different worlds; a modern world that we can all recognise which includes Facebook and the overzealous law, and another world more ancient and mystical that offers something other, something dreamlike. The alternating chapters are a real page turner format – I couldn’t stop reading once I started. I also think the Foster carer, Frankie is a fantastic character. Enjoy folks!!!

      • Thank you so much, Harula 😉 I really like Frankie as well. I actually based her character on my vet – she’s exactly like her so I really didn’t need to change anything. The last time I saw her she had two black eyes and I asked her what happened. She said, ‘Got kicked by a horse – I’ve had worse. it’s nothin’.’ Hahaha – she’s a classic! 😀

        • Dianne, it’s pretty awesome to know that Frankie is based on a true person. In the novel, although she felt real, I never thought people with golden hearts, like her, really existed. Really cool fact. 🙂

      • Harula, I absolutely love your comment. You are very right! Frankie included, I loved her character. It is a complex book that merges those two worlds and it’s different and beautiful and an amazing read. I loved hearing your take on the novel! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    