Book Review: My Vampire Summer

Title: My Vampire Summer

Author: Elle Casey

Rating: 2 of 5 Stars

Blurb: My Vampire Summer, a novella, the first novella in a series of four … Reserved bookworm Iona Candella and her best friend, wildchild Cheri Blake, are spending the summer before college in a small medieval town in France. Iona plans to spend the time reading 100 books on her Kindle and Cheri plans to spend it interfering in Iona’s book reading/hibernation plan and finding gorgeous French boyfriends to help them pass the time instead. Both of them get more than they bargained for or even imagined. Ancient curses, haunted castle ruins, crypts protected by supernatural serpents. My Vampire Summer is a veritable YA Fantasy banquet, all in a novella-sized package.

My Review: This is not a bad book. Casey is known for capturing the reader’s attention and easily does this in My Vampire Summer. However, I simply feel this book was not for me.

About the book: Iona is the main character, which by the way, I love her name. She goes to vacation in France with her mother the summer after her high school graduation. Her BFF Cheri also comes along and I’m not too sure how I feel about her. She has the best intentions but she is truly rough around the edges in my opinion. Her way of approaching things and her obnoxious attitude tended to grate on my nerves. But then she is such a persistently good friend that I couldn’t stay mad at her for too long. Ahem… I see I got side tracked- Back to my synopsis. Cheri goes to France with the idea of finding herself a summer romance and Iona goes in love with her Kindle and hopes to do nothing more than sit around and meet her goal of reading at least 50 books over the summer. However, it turns out that they get more than they bargained for when a series of events leads to Iona breaking down and entering an alternate reality from her padded cell in a mental institution. Haha… Just kidding. Sort of. Iona finds herself in a situation she’s only read about in novels and yep you guessed it: Vampires. She deals with it by convincing herself that she’s lost her marbles.

I have to say… This novella was not at all what I expected. I have come to find that Casey has a very unique voice and when she writes I instantly recognize her. With My Vampire Summer…. This was not at all the case. Overall this book is about friendship, innocence, love and romance. Not really a bad read. Just not for me. It reminded me a bit (or a lot) of Vampire Kisses. Like the School Library Journal said in its review of Vampire Kisses “All in all, a good read for those who want a vampire love story without the gore.” Well this statement also coincides with My Vampire Summer. I therefore definitely recommend this read to fans of Vampire Kisses, you will love this novella.

My issue with My Vampire Summer is that I found it a little too juvenile for me. It makes me think I may  need to recategorize my genre from YA to mature YA. I feel as if it was intended for a younger audience and I found myself not connecting with the characters. There was however lots of mystery and intrigue. I might read the sequel to give this series another shot and to uncover some of it’s mystery.

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Leave a Reply

