Book Review: Call to Arms

Title: Call to Arms War of the Fae #2)

Author: Elle Casey

Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Blurb: Follow Jayne Sparks, the (still) potty-mouthed seventeen-year-old and newly changed elemental fae and her friends – an incubus, a daemon, a green elf, a water sprite and a pixie – as they struggle to find their places in the Light Fae community of the Green Forest and prepare for the upcoming battle against the Dark Fae.

My Review: So… Many of you may already know that once upon a time I read Call to Arms and gave it a very mean review. Knowing now that was an all emotional reviewer, I read this book for a second time- With an open mind and at a slower pace.

Well I can tell you now, that was a total fail. I started the book and was immediately swept up in the emotion of the book. I didn’t stand a chance. I read this book straight through only stopping for a nap. As in, I had to charge my iPad and decided to get some sleep while that happened. It was the middle of the night after all and the first thing I did after opening my eyes was to reach over and start reading where I left off. Now that I have finished reading Call to Arms I find myself having a lot to say. I hope not to bore you guys and I’m sure you will find a review somewhere in here… Eventually. (Haha…)

First, I want to apologize to Elle Casey. Wow did I do your book an injustice with my angry words and harsh review. I realize now how juvenile and angry I was then… Sometime ago, someone pointed this out to me and thank God for that. Thanks to this person’s honest and wise words I saw the error of my ways and have since continuously asked myself what exactly makes a good review. Yet one thing I have never reverted back to are my overly emotional and mean reviews. I consider myself someone who can admit being wrong- which I totally was.

Back to Call to Arms, I completely fell in love with this book. This book picks up right where The Changelings left off. Jayne has decided to become a changeling and accept the Fae blood that runs through her veins. Call to Ams follows Jayne and her friends integration into Fae society. Jayne continues to have a terrible potty mouth and a sick sense of humor that i just couldn’t get enough of and with the new characters we are treated to in this book, I did some serious LOLing. Jayne is always finding herself in crazy a** situations so the reader is never at a loss for action scenes. There also some hints of romance I hope to see more of in the books to come. The reader is also treated to lots of answers to the questions that arose in The Changelings.

The characters were fun and spunky and once again bring different things to the table. However, I want to specially talk about Becky (whom I kinda bashed in my first review). I think I just didn’t get her the first time around. It wasn’t that Becky’s character was lost, more so that she became a better, stronger person. I think that would happen to anyone who found themselves lost (a runaway and homeless) and finally finds their purpose in life. I think my head was just too far up my a** to see that the first time around. šŸ˜‰

Call to Arms is truly an amazing sequel and I absolutely loved reading it. I look forward to reading the sequel… Which you should be seeing soon. I know I already mentioned Casey loves her cliff hangers and I’m going crazy to know what happens next.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Call to Arms

  1. It’s always good to reflect on old reviews. I did so myself and realized I had made some very arrogant statements in one. I deleted it and have decided to read it again. I think a good review isn’t stated as a fact and shows reasons for feelings. I’ve seen many that state things as facts and give the impression that they knew what the author was thinking. It’s just not possible. I liked this review, and I really like the book cover. I’ve not read many fairy novels…I think the last one I read was Moore Child. I believe I was fifteen!

    • Thank you so much Cassandra, for your comment and input. I appreciate your understanding.

      As for reading Fae books, you should give this series a try. I really think its one of those that everyone can enjoy: Teens and adults alike.

Leave a Reply

