Book Review: Beautiful Disaster

Title: Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1)

Author: Jamie McGuire

Rating: 3.5 of 5 Stars (I don’t normally do half stars but in this case is my only way of doing this book justice)

Synopsis: The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

My Review: In the past week, since I decided to read this book, I have actually read it three times. Now, this actually says a few things. First, I’ve been having a really tough time articulating how I feel about the book. I reread it in the hopes of having some sort of clarity in order to write an un-emotional review or rant.

So as far as what I can tell you after my third time reading this book: Jamie McGuire wields magic and all three times manage to capture and hold my interest. Second, this book is hard to think back on without feeling. As much as I try to separate myself emotionally from this book it doesn’t seem possible. Lastly, Beautiful Disaster is a very apt title for this book.

So this story is about Abby and Travis and their relationship. It is a book of romance and contains some humor and action. It starts off well. The stage is set when Travis, Mr. One Night Stand himself, tries to hit on Abby. When she turns him down he finds himself even more drawn to her and this eventually leads to a friendship between the two. The are both attracted to each other but Abby refuses to be another one of his conquests. So they share this crazy chemistry and we can see it building up and it’s romantic and exciting and romance loving me absolutely loved it. It is without a doubt entertaining watching them fight the attraction they so clearly feel for each other and they have this amazing chemistry that provides some very steamy scenes. Those scenes are only hints of what they could be like together because despite everything not even a kiss is exchanged. As the reader I was excited and anticipated them finally getting together and when they finally do… It seems to all go to hell.

I am trying very hard to review this book without any spoilers, so bare with me. Like I said, the book revolves around their relationship. Through their makeups and breakups, the friendship and it is interesting and I enjoyed most of it. But I was also disgusted and shocked and I don’t even know what word I can use to properly describe how this book made me feel. I have never seen, heard or read of such a dysfunctional relationship. Through the drinking, fighting, jealousy, possessiveness, gambling, love, obsession and lust this book portrays a relationship that although it is at times beautiful I would never wish on anyone.

Again, Beautiful Disaster is a perfect name for this book. Whoever thought it up, kudos to you. Abby and Travis are in this relationship that when they are happy, it is so beautiful. But then they have problems which is normal in any relationship, except that with Travis and Abby I feel like it goes a little to far. They are always at extremes. Extremely happy, extremely sad, extremely angry. It leads to very intense scenes that left me feeling a certain way that I wouldn’t even know how to describe. This feeling? It isn’t at all good.

My parting thoughts: not a bad book. The reader of this book is definitely in for a roller coaster of a ride. You will be hooked and as disappointed as you may be when certain things happen, you will continue to read because you have no other choice. It is romantic and those who enjoy that in literature are bound to like this book. Although I was annoyed and upset with and because of this book, I did read it three times. To me, that clearly says something. Do I recommend it? I’m not sure. Depends on the person.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Beautiful Disaster

Leave a Reply

