Book Review: Sweet So Fragile + Giveaway

Title: Sweet So Fragile

Author: Margaret Chatwin

Rating: 3 of 5 Stars

Synopsis: During a robbery, Jace Sullivan’s wife, Cari, was murdered. If that wasn’t bad enough, she was seven months pregnant when it happened. Though medics were able to save the child, the unfavorable circumstances behind the premature delivery has left baby Colton with severe health issues.
Now, while trying to pick up the pieces of his own shattered life, Jace must watch helplessly as his son desperately fights to keep his fragile life. Meanwhile, his teenage daughter, Jorry, seems to be carelessly throwing hers away.

My Review: The story overall was pretty good. I once read one of her interviews where she said she’d never like to live in one of her books… Now I’m understanding why. It seems that a popular theme in her books are the tough things that one would like to pretend don’t really exist but tend to be the reality in people’s lives.

Characters: Sweet So Fragile seems to revolve around three characters- they are also the narrators.

  • Jace is my favorite character of the three. I found him to be realistic and relatable. He, I believe, had the toughest of struggles and I found myself emotionally attached to the book and his character. Chatwin really has a way of reeling the reader in.
  • Jorry tended to really get on my nerves. I don’t think I have ever encountered such an idiotic character. Although Chatwin does a great job of capturing teenage angst it was not easy to read. I think she perfectly captured the feeling of being misunderstood. But wow was it frustrating to see. Although I was never near Jorry scale of teenage stupidity, by the time I finished reading this book I felt the need to call my mom and apologize for all my teenage acts of rebellion. Needless to say, this book really got to me.
  • Shara plays Jace’s love interest. She loves with all her heart. She is selfless and endearing. She represents the struggles stepmoms and women who date fathers go through.

I sadly found the romance to be too realistic. Ridiculous, I know. When the attraction became apparent between Jace and Shara I was expecting to see some crazy world wind romance. The kind of thing that is only found in novels. But no, their relationship was very realistic. With all of the baggage that Jace had: his love for his dead wife, his children- one of them being sick, another an idiotic and suicidal seeming teenager, and a dangerous career. Im not saying they didn’t have a nice romance, as they did. It’s just that I wish it had a little more pizzazz, a touch of fairy dust or something equally magical.

Sweet so fragile is a pretty good book. It’s captivating and I enjoyed reading it. However, this book wasn’t always easy to swallow. It is very realistic and deals with some tough issues. I would recommend this book to people who tend to forget to appreciate the good in life and those who simply need to know that at the end of the day, things will work themselves out- that things will get better. It’s definitely an eye opener. This a book that both teenagers and adults can gain something from.

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

For a chance to win a free PDF copy of Margaret Chatwin’s novel Sweet So Fragile fill out the form below:

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Sweet So Fragile + Giveaway

  1. I actually found it great that Jorry got on your nerves because that’s what teenagers do 🙂 They say and do stupid things and they can be incredibly frustrating (the fact that she stuck with you after you finished reading the book is amazing). I also liked the fact that you thought the romance was too ‘real’. From your review I see this book as a step away from the escapism we seem to be getting used to now. Don’t get me wrong – I love escapism, but sometimes we just have to read something to ‘ground’ us.
    I also really love the way you do honest reviews (with all the crap that’s been going on lately with paid-for reviews and bogus reviews etc) – and I really admire you for this.

    Wonderful work 🙂

    • Ahhh… Thanks Dianne! I think you made me blush a few times there… 🙂

      You are right about escapism, it’s one of my favorite reasons to read. This book seriously draws the reader in and the place it takes you to isn’t a nice one but it’s such a captivating read. About Jorry, I don’t even want to get started with her… *Sigh* she has stuck with me and has me dreading my daughter becoming a teen. The book is so real and that’s not always easy to swallow. This book leaves an impression and is hard to forget.

  2. Thanks, Tiffany. One of my biggest reasons for getting published was to find out what people really think about my books. It wouldn’t do me any good to try to persuade a reader to give me a rating that is anything other than what they really feel. (This is the trouble with having family and friends review books. They don’t want to hurt feelings so they give high ratings whether it’s deserved or not.)

    I’m glad Jorry gets on your nerves. She gets on mine too. 🙂 I wanted the reader to like her mostly because she was Jace’s daughter and because Jace loved her so much. But I also wanted the reader to want to shake some sense into her. I did this because sometimes in life when we’re able to stand back and see the whole picture we see how stupid certain decisions and actions are. We see what kind of damage and trouble they can cause. On the other hand, when you’re standing in Jorry’s place, when you just want to be accepted and when everything hurts, we sometimes close our eyes to that big picture. We allow ourselves to get sucked in one step at a time and before we know it we’re in too deep.

    This book is probably the most realistic one I’ve ever written but it’s because it’s based on real events.

    Anyway, thank you again for the review and for taking the time to read it!!

Leave a Reply

