Book Review: Obsidian

Title: Obsidian (Lux # 1)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Synopsis: Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Review: I should begin by saying that the only reason I picked this book up is because everyone and their mother was swooning over this book on Goodreads. I decided to finally pick it up and find out what all the hype was about.

When I started this book, I was already curious and by the first chapter I was intrigued. But I’ll admit that up to that point I had yet to even read Obsidian’s blurb so I had no clue what the book was about, just that Daemon is one of Goodreads favorite bad boys. So after the first chapter, I still had no clue what it was about and decided to finally read the blurb. In my About Me I describe myself as enjoying books dealing with the paranormal. This is without a doubt true. However, in my saying this, I do not include alien life forms or extraterrestrials or whatever. I have never read books dealing with them. Not because I’ve never found any, I am simply not drawn to them. Even the ones people tend to rave about don’t draw my attention. But here I am reading a book about aliens. I pride myself in seeing books through once I start them so I set out to finish it. Although I was dismayed, I was already intrigued.

The first half of the book I was mostly dragging my feet through. It wasn’t necessarily boring but it wasn’t exciting either. It was interesting and I could feel the story building up. I was quite literally waiting for the pin to drop and for the story to really start.

So here’s the story: Katy moves to a small town with her mother attempting to start fresh and move on from a terrible loss they experienced. They end up moving in next door to two teenagers Dee and Daemon. Dee and Katy have a lot in common and instantly become friends. Daemon on the other hand is truly something sexy but is a total jerk. Katy is attracted to him and all but hates him. Well truly dislikes him.

Daemon comes off as such a jerk. He is confrontational and always seems to provoke Katy. He humiliates her and belittles her. But then he turns around and is sweet, thoughtful and charming.
Which leads Katy to have mixed feelings for him. She dislikes him for the way he treats her but manages to get butterflies every time he’s near. I loved the chemistry and the anticipation I felt as the reader, waiting for them to finally admit their feelings.

Katy, I really enjoyed getting to know her character. She is strong and honest and I love how she doesn’t back down from a fight. Which led to so much bickering between her and Daemon- which I totally loved. It was funny and romantic at times but always entertaining.

I tend to stay away from alien books, if that’s what they are called, but this one I fell in love with. It is truly romantic- which I loved. Daemon and Katy are always arguing and bickering but have such chemistry… By the end of the book I was positively craving the sequel. The quick pace and action packed scenes of the second half of the book more than make up for the slow first half.

So all in all, I see what the hype is about. If you enjoy romantic, action-packed and suspenseful books; you will love this one.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Obsidian

  1. I’ve never read an “alien” book and passed over this one for that same reason. But I’ve been hearing good things about it lately so I think I may have to give it a try! Thanks for your review.

  2. Tiffany, I can’t believe you didn’t read this book before! I’m happy you loved it! I loved this book also but was obsessed with Onyx!

    • Haha! Thanks for the comment Kayla! I was already anxious to get my hands on the sequel but you saying that makes me ultra excited…. I’m so looking forward to it!

  3. This is interesting because the first thing you learn about writing is to grab the reader’s attention at the beginning of the story. I’ve been surprised lately at the amount of books that drag through the beginning. I even had a friend say they had to really plod through the first part of “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo!’ I didn’t mind the book because I’d actually seen the original movie before I read it, so I knew what was coming…

    Also – this line didn’t sit right with me (I’m assuming it’s the cover blurb) “But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something‚Ķunexpected happens”. If I was proofing this story I’d suggest the author change this – because I would think Daemon freezing time would be unexpected in itself! Anyway – just me being old fashioned I guess ūüėÄ

Leave a Reply

