Book Review: Divergent

Title: Divergent (Divergent #1)

Author: Veronica Roth

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Synopsis: In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group, and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all.

My Review: I don’t know how many of you know this but most of the books I read to review, I borrow from the library. So as everyone knows this book has gotten a lot of hype. So when I finally decided to look into the book, I go online to request the book from the library. But nothing could have piqued my interest more than to see that there were over 500 people in the waiting queue for this book. So I patiently waited my turn and can say that Divergent is definitely worth the hype.

One of the things I enjoy most in books, something that can make the difference in how much I enjoy a book, is whether or not the book has a strong heroine. Tris is one of the strongest heroines I have encountered in literature. So as far as strong heroines go, this book has it in spades. She is confident, has strong morals and fights for what she believes in. She is also a fighter and a survivor. She is a bit hot-headed and fears showing weakness but is loyal and brave. And the award for kick-ass heroine goes to….

It is romantic. It is slow to build and I mean that in a good way. It is sweet and uncompromising and I totally loved it. Four, Tris’ love interest is someone you’ll be swooning over by the time you finish the book. He is tough, insightful and so intriguing. He’s this mystery that ever so slowly is revealed to the reader. I love the way he doesn’t nurture her. He knows her strength and motivates her. He doesn’t encourage her moments of weakness nor does he indulge them. He is such an asshole bad boy but is attractive in the most honest and sweet and vulnerable way you can imagine.

When I first read this novel, as this is my second time reading it, I was continuously confused by the five factions. I had trouble remembering and understanding their names. That is until I decided to look up the name of the factions: Amity, Erudite, Dauntless, Abnegation, and Candor. At which point I realized that I simply needed to expand my vocabulary.

So all in all, this is an amazing read. It is action packed, fast paced, romantic and it definitely gives dystopians a good name.

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Divergent

  1. Wonderful review! There has been a lot of hype regarding this book and I’ve wanted to give it a shot but didn’t know if I enjoy it. This review made me want to higher it on my tbr list.

    • I’ve actually already read Insurgent. I plan on re-reading it to review it on here…. To be honest though, Insurgent doesn’t compare to Divergent. The first three quarters of the book, the story line is really slow and… Sorry. I think I’ll leave that for the review. But I’ll warn you, don’t start the book with any expectations. Maybe that way you’ll actually enjoy it.

      • well I am looking forward to your review of Insurgent. And duly noted, no expectations going in…once I finally get to it 🙂

      • I don’t want to make it appear to be a bad book. But if you are assuming that Divergent is setting the tone for the series, you will be disappointed. I’ll be looking forward to your review… When you get to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

