Book Blogger Hop: The One Genre I Will Never Read

So I was recently stalking checking out a fellow bloggers page and saw a really cool meme she was participating in. So here I go, attempting it as well.

Book Blogger Hop

What is the one genre you will NEVER read?

Horror. Since early in my childhood I have always had my older brother forcing me to watch scary movies. In my childhood the movies that gave me the worst of my nightmares were It and Chuckie. Now, him being ever the bully still forces my twenty something year old ass to watch scary stuff. Now though he has moved on from movies and makes me watch ghost hunting shows. I don’t appreciate it and hate it even more when he screams boo in my ear when I’m already scared shitless. But later on in the night while I’m quaking with fear, with the lights turned on hiding under my blanket I realize that although I will never willingly watch that show it really was interesting. And that is my relationship with horror. It terrifies and fascinates me all at once.

All in all, I don’t have a genre I strictly won’t do. I absolutely love reading and I like to give everything a try. However, horror is one genre that I am very weary of and approach with lots of caution.

7 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: The One Genre I Will Never Read

    • Haha! I think we can do this for days. My brother is infamous for donning Halloween costumes while playing hide and seek. I remember once he hid in the closet and I was pretty sure he was in there. However, once I stuck my hand in there blindly and didn’t touch skin I gave up as I was retreating, he runs at me in a Freddy Krueger mask. Needless to say, he always manages to scare the crap out of me.

  1. Haha. I loved hearing about you and your brother and how he still makes you watch scary shows even now! My son (the older brother) makes my daughter (the little sister) watch those ghost hunting shows, too! It’s funny to picture them doing the same thing when they are adults!

    • Haha! Too funny. I think it’s genetics and older brothers just don’t know how to stop bullying their little sisters. I know that my brother now does it with good intentions. He thinks that if I watch scary stuff enough times I won’t be scared of them anymore. I guess to a certain degree it works…. I will never EVER admit that to him though…

  2. I love mysteries…….but not horror stuff. I would like something like …The Mystery of the Silent Computer. I sure wish I had one. 😦 Mine would scare all the horrible horrors away.

Leave a Reply

