Book Review: The Goddess Test

Title: The Goddess Test (Goddess Test #1)

Author: Aimee Carter

Rating: 2 of 5 Stars

Synopsis: EVERY GIRL WHO HAS TAKEN THE TEST HAS DIED.

NOW IT’S KATE’S TURN.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom–and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld–and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy–until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

IF SHE FAILS…

My Review: The book was pretty good. I enjoyed it and was hooked from the beginning. The romance was beautiful and a little different but I loved every minute if it. I also enjoyed Carter’s interpretation of Greek mythology. It was unique and very well told. I enjoyed Henry’s character. He is dark and mysterious but he’s surprisingly vulnerable and endearing. He was by far my favorite character.

Now, I can’t say the same for the other characters. With the exception of Kate who was a pretty likable character. She was very human. Does that make sense? She is realistic, someone I would expect to see on the street, someone I felt I could relate to. She had strengths and weaknesses that made her very believable. However, there was one thing I disliked about her. She seems to have the weight on the world on her shoulders and she constantly blames herself for everything. No matter how small a fault or insignificant a detail may be, she uses it to bring herself down. But back to what I was saying, I wasn’t a big fan of any of the other characters. In truth, I was often turned off to the book because of them.

For those of you who read the synopsis know that the book leads up to a test or moment that defines her status. Did she pass or fail the test and what will happen next? Immortality or death? I thought that when that when I finally came to that scene, it would be amazing. But there I was feeling disgusted. I can’t at all say I enjoyed this ending. There is a crazy, last plot twist that kind of ruined the entire book for me. The plot twist itself and Kate’s way of handling it- I found it unrealistic.

Would I recommend this book? I’ll leave it up to you. Do you like endings with crazy plot twist that leave you confused? Do you enjoying seeing characters uncharacteristically get over betrayal, lies and deceit? Are you not a sucker for happy endings? If yes to all of the above this is the book for you. For those of you who said no to these questions beware: You will read this book and enjoy it, it really is quite good, but the end will leave you unhappy and dissatisfied.

Leave a Reply

