Book Review: Matched

Title: Matched (Matched #1)

Author: Ally Condie

Rating: 3 of 5 Stars

Synopsis: Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

My Review: I started this book thinking it was about a love triangle. It even starts off feeling that way. With most of the love triangle books I have read, I tend to have a favorite; To want one relationship to work out more than the other. In Matched, as I read I was interested and intrigued but as far as the love triangle goes I felt as if I was riding a wave. I was going with the flow waiting for the pin to drop. For the defining moment that’ll give me a favorite. Contrary to my beliefs the central point of this book is not about a love triangle. Most books that share this theme tend to revolve around who she would choose. However, this “love triangle” is pretty one sided and I realized that this book is about something else entirely.

This book is truly about rebellion. For Cassia it revolves around the Dylan Thomas poem Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night. Matched is a novel about Cassia learning what it really means to “not go gentle.” It is about the moment where she decides to do things she wants because she chooses to and not because she is told to them. It is a nice story and I enjoyed seeing Cassia’s character grow. Because that is for certain, Cassia is a very dynamic character.

The book was interesting and I was definitely hooked. However, I really think it could of been better. There are so many dystopians that are similar in themes and scenarios and Matched seems to have a bit of a unique edge. What you unique edge, you ask? The biggest difference I found is how aware Cassia is of the effects of her actions. She is in no way ignorant and it was a nice change to have such a conscious character. Selfish but conscious. I just found that it wasn’t unique enough. It wasn’t different enough to not remind me of all the similarities it shares with today’s dystopians.

Still, it wasn’t a bad book and I am looking forward to getting my hands on the sequel.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Matched

  1. I’m pretty sure I also gave Matched 3 of 5 stars. It wasn’t a bad book but wasn’t the best. I agree with your review especially about other dystopian books and how it is similar and different.

    • I’m happy to find someone who agrees with me! I had a pretty tough time giving it a rating. Mostly because it really has that impossible to put down factor but it is exactly what I define a 3 star rating to mean. I’m hoping the sequel is better…. Did you ever read it?

      • Yes, I read the sequel. It was a little slow in the beginning and the romance is stronger. I wouldn’t rush out and get it but it wasn’t a bad book. I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending but did plan on reading Reached to see how it all ends.

    • Thanks Dianne! That is so true. I recently had a fellow blogger comment and say that being on the NY Times Bestseller doesn’t always mean the book is good. Sometimes authors just have a good following….

      • Sometimes I read a major book winner (like the Booker) and think the books that were shortlisted were better. Having said that I wouldn’t mind winning the Booker!!!

  2. I read tons of dystopian and, you’re right, they are all very similar. What I liked about this one is just the loveliness of the writing. And the fact that it was sinister without being really graphically violent, you know?

    Glad to have found your blog via a comment you made on the Under A Gray Sky blog!

    • Hi Susan! Thank you so much for checking out my blog!

      You are right. Matched is very well written. As we both agree that it’s very similar to today’s dystopians, I believe Condie is a great storyteller and her writing is what makes this book SO good.

Leave a Reply

