Book Review: Incarnate

Title: Incarnate (Newsoul #1)

Author: Jodi Meadows

Rating: 4 0f 5 Stars

Synopsis: New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.

My Review:  I finished reading this book a few hours ago and am still trying to wrap my head around it. So if I seem a little scatter brained please bear with me.

When the story starts, it is Ana’s 18th birthday and she is leaving home. As it turns out her mother is a good for nothing _________. Think of your worse insult and fill in that blank. And believe me it still wouldn’t be harsh enough to do that woman justice.

So the abuse and neglect inflected on Ana, truly defines her character. Which by the way, Meadows does a great job of showing the reader. So as she attempts to reach her destination she finds Sam. Needless to say, I really liked him. He was honest, caring, attentive, selfless and I loved seeing the sparks fly. Their romance is exceedingly beautiful and was a big reason for my enjoying the book so much.

Ana always the neglected, abused and mocked child had a lot of character development to undergo. Maybe not everyone will agree with me on this one. But my big dislike of the book lies in her development. At first we see her changes including her learning to trust. However, at some point I felt like the changes stopped being showed and were simply stated. No, let me correct myself. She actually went from victim to rebel out of no where. At some points I felt lost and tended to not recognize her character.

In all honesty, that dislike is minor in comparison to the good in the book. It is a rollercoaster of romance, betrayal, abuse, love and hate. The reason I picked up this book is because of the synopsis. I was totally intrigued and decided to give it a try… It was totally worth it. It is utterly impossible to put down and I was unable to get anything done until I finished reading the book. A lot of questions were left unanswered and I do believe it could have ended better but I think Meadows was simply trying to draw us to book two. Incarnate was captivating and is a book I recommend.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Incarnate

  1. Another great review, Tiffany. What is it about a story that keeps us turning pages and we can’t put it down until it’s finished? When you find this secret – share it with no one but me – 😀
    Also, the character of Anna’s mother must have been written very well, because you felt more passion for her than the main character – does this sound right? or am I just assuming?

Leave a Reply

