Book Review: Need

Title: Need (Need #1)

Author: Carrie Jones

Rating: 1 0f 5 Stars

Synopsis: Zara White suspects there’s a freaky guy semi-stalking her. She’s also obsessed with phobias. And it’s true, she hasn’t exactly been herself since her stepfather died. But exiling her to shivery Maine to live with her grandmother? That seems a bit extreme. The move is supposed to help her stay sane…but Zara’s pretty sure her mom just can’t deal with her right now.

She couldn’t be more wrong. Turns out the semi-stalker is not a figment of Zara’s overactive imagination. In fact, he’s still following her, leaving behind an eerie trail of gold dust. There’s something not right – not human – in this sleepy Maine town, and all signs point to Zara.

In this creepy, compelling breakout novel, Carrie Jones delivers romance, suspense, and a creature you never thought you’d have to fear.

My Review: This book was recommended to me and this person has never steered me wrong… Until now. It was sort of interesting and it put a nice twist on pixies- making the whole race evil-ish but more that anything it annoyed and frustrated me.

Let me start by naming some positives. Zara, the protagonist, is someone that is obsessed with phobias. So at the beginning of every chapter a phobia is named and defined. For example, the first chapter starts by naming Phobophobia and thendivines it as being the fear of phobias. Well, I found it educational and happened to have enjoyed it. Next, the story actually starts of very well. With the way the story begins, was intrigued and very interested in the book. That sums up the good for me.

Now is where I will warn you of the ranting that is sure to follow… I apologize in advance. I found Zara so naive and weak. I’m not saying she didn’t show strength over all because she mostly was strong. But her moments of weakness…. Irritated the crap out of me. Throughout the entire book it is clear that she is being lied to and everyone is in on secrets she’s not made aware of. What I don’t understand is how she can be so accepting of that. If you moved to a new place and are meeting new people, would you blindly trust them knowing that they are keeping secrets. How is she so trusting of strangers that are clearly keeping things from her? Sheesh she should of had some radar going off or something. How can she not even be curious or attempt to find out what’s going on. I swear it’s not only me. Aren’t humans naturally supposed to be curious? *Spoiler Alert*Well then again she’s not completely human either. Regardless, I found it to be unrealistic.

Then there’s the fact that she is SO slow. When things start being revealed… Wow it took an effort to finish this book. I think there’s is a difference between being stupid and being in denial. The protagonist in this book just comes off as stupid. There are only so many times that you can ask “where did the dog go?”

Ok, I think I’ve made my point and am quite frankly tired of ranting. Not a terrible book but not exactly good either. Wouldn’t necessarily recommend, unless you have no other book available or enjoy wasting away hours of your life…

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Need

  1. Hahaha – this is great!
    – There are only so many times that you can ask “where did the dog go?” I’m still laughing at that line.
    Is this an indie book or with a publishing house?

    • Hi Dianne! I’m so happy you enjoyed my review. As for the author, as far as I know she was once an indie writer but the Need series was published with Bloomsbury Publishing.

Leave a Reply

