Book Review: Legends Lost

Title: Legends Lost

Author: Janet McNulty

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Synopsis: Amborese thought she was a peasant’s daughter until one night dark creatures murdered her parents and pursued her into the forest. Saved by a talking cat and her friend Zolo, she fled for her life only to learn that she had a bigger destiny than she once believed. Pursued across the five lands of Tesnayr by an evil wizard’s army, Amborese must overcome her doubts and unite the dragons, elves, dwarves, and the five lands themselves. But will they follow a mere girl?

When I read the description for this book I was immediately interested. However, I was not at all prepared for the awesomeness McNulty presents to us in Legends Lost. Her storytelling rivals that of Christopher Paolini and J.K. Rowling.

The story is about a girl, Amborese, who discovers that there is more to her life than being a peasants daughter and has a destiny to fulfill. It is a very intriguing and action packed book. It is told in a way that you, as a reader, are always aware of the happenings in Tesnayr. McNulty does a great job of setting the scene from the language to the imagery.

The story is told in third person POV and has a wide array of interesting characters. Every character serves a purpose and even the most insignificant seeming characters turn up later in the book and play a part in the progression of the story line. I was seriously into this book. At the beginning of the book I kept thinking of how much Legends Lost reminded me of Eragon and Harry Potter but it took on a life of its own. It is a book I would recommend to anyone, especially those who enjoyed these books.

Now, although overall I really enjoyed this book, I do have some complaints. There is a part where Amborese meets dwarves on her travels and one night they have some sort of celebration. Here they start singing some drunk never-ending song and McNulty shares their lyrics- and that is my complaint. I kept reading the lyrics wondering what role the would play in the story line… Well they don’t play any role at all and I also found it terrible boring. So if my ranting has not sufficed to state the obvious, I did not like or enjoy the dwarves songs in any way. *Spoiler Alert* Then there is the matter of Sylena’s death. (I’m not sure if anyone will consider this a spoiler- but just in case.) My complaint here is her dying period. She is a faerie and is therefore supposed to be immortal. Right? I just wished that was explained. Was the lion somehow magical and her immortality ceased to exist before his magic? Or did her turning evil rid her of her immortality? Overall, I just wish the reader was provided with more information. Next, I found Amborese’s grief at the end of part one to be a little unrealistic. Well not so much the grief itself but the way she handled it. I wished McNulty would have given us more insight to her feelings at that moment instead of simply stating (something like) “she was sad but squared her shoulders and moved on with her life.” I feel so dramatic for stating it that way but I think my point was made.

So to summarize, although I had a few complaints it was overall an amazing read. It’s a book I would definitely recommend and a book that deserves to be read.

*I received a free copy of this book from the author to review

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Legends Lost

  1. Great review! You made me take a step back and look at the novel I’m writing at the moment and the notion of unrealistic grief.
    I’m going back to mine as we speak to check it out!
    Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Thank you Dianne! I’m happy to know you can get something out of my review. And by the way, I had no idea you were writing a book! But with how great your regular posts are I can only imagine how great your book will be.

Leave a Reply

