Book Review: Any Love But Mine

Title: Any Love But Mine

Author: Debbie Davies

Rating: 3 of 5 Star

Synopsis: Look but don’t touch has never been more true…
The gods forbade her to love, but love is a powerful force. Acacia has been created purely for Eros’ pleasure but discovers within moments of being summoned into his presence that he has no interest in her whatsoever. Rejected, she is banished to Earth to serve as Eros’ minion with the task of promoting the blissful state of love among all those around her, a state she must never indulge in with a human being herself on pain of immediate destruction. And then comes Josh, someone whose power of attraction over Acacia is so intense she will find it utterly impossible to resist him. But is he human? Is he a god? Or is he a trick of the gods? And what would happen should they kiss?

To perfectly sum up how I feel about this book let me state what a three star rating means to me: It was mostly a good read for me but I had some issues with it. It was just good enough that I enjoyed it and don’t regret reading it. I am not likely to re-read this book.

Anyone who knows me can contest to the fact that I am a romance lover. Good thing I am, were it not for that I would have never finished this book. And that’s saying something! I pride myself in finishing every book I start.

However, in order to not get ahead of myself I will start with the good. As you may have guessed with the synopsis, this book is based on Greek mythology. That in itself was a positive for me as I tend to enjoy that from time to time. I also enjoyed Davies rendition of the gods. Along with everything else, and as previously mentioned, I particularly enjoyed the romance. The second bout more than the first.

*Continue at your own risk as I will now provide SPOILERS

As it turns out I have a long list of dislikes and will apologize now for the ranting I am bound to do. So, my first and biggest dislike is Acacia. I found her to be weak and selfish. I was disgusted with the way she ALWAYS tended to act. Had she been a strong heroine this book would have been great all around for me. I think there is a difference between playing the hand you’re dealt and taking everything lying down. With that being said Acacia tends to the latter. Big emphasis on the word tends. As it turns out, she is not always that way. When she finally stands up for something she proves to the reader that not only is she weak, she is also selfish. If you are asking yourself what situation lead me to this conclusion I should first remind you that she is forbidden to love anyone who is not Eros. Well it turns out that not only does she find love, but she finds her soul mate. Upon Eros finding out he warns her that if she continues to see Josh (her first love interest and again emphasis on first) he would send them both to hell (literally). Upon which time he would make sure that her punishment be watching Josh get tortured forevermore. As the reader I was happy to see her finally get some backbone and stand up for something. However, she does not think things through and never reveals the truth to Josh. This leads to Josh’s “death” and her being sent to the underworld.

It’s important for me to now stress that finding a soul mate is a big deal, especially in this novel. So this leads to my next dislike: how quickly she moves on from Josh (her soul mate) to Lucas, his murderer. Now is the part where I grudgingly admit that Lucas was my favorite character- until it turns out that he was a backstabbing liar. Ok, ok. Sheesh! I know calling him a backstabber might be a stretch.

So in order to cut my ranting short I will move on to my next big dislike: I was truly frustrated and annoyed by all the secret keeping. Call it a life lesson but I don’t trust people who keep too many secrets. Acacia was surrounded by people who did only that. And I cannot count the times I was tempted to throw this book down in frustration at her easy acceptance of this. (Although she tossed around the idea of confronting these secret keepers she never acted on it.) I refuse to believe that if any person knew that another held a secret that has to do with them and can help them not only take control of their life and understand it better but also alter it would simply let sleeping dogs lie. But to be fair, secret keeping tends to be a BIG book pet peeve of mine.

Since I am sick of ranting I  hope that I have expressed myself enough. If not, here is a quick recap: I had mixed feelings about this book. It mostly annoyed and frustrated me; Had it not been for the romance I would have never enjoyed or finished this book.

*I received a free copy of this book from the author to review 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Any Love But Mine

  1. I enjoyed this book review quite a bit, it included in it a lot more of your opinion and although you didnt necessarily enjoy the book and wanted to throw it in frustration at times due to the character development or lack thereof I would enjoy seeing a lot more reviews revealing the awesome book commentaries you give when critiquing a book 🙂

Leave a Reply

